Reddish Vale Nursery School

Reddish Vale Road, Stockport, Cheshire, SK5 7EU

0161 480 6713

EYFS Guidance 

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a stage of children’s development from birth to the end of their first (Reception) year in school. The EYFS Framework (click here) describes how early years practitioners should work with children and their families to support their development and learning. It describes how children should be kept safe and cared for and how all concerned can make sure that children achieve the most that they can in their earliest years of life.

It is based on four important principles:

A Unique Child
Positive Relationships
Enabling Environments
Learning and Development

The principles underpin all that practitioners are required to do.

At Reddish Vale Nursery School we follow Birth to Five Matters

Download or buy a copy – Birth To 5 Matters


The seven areas of learning and development consist of 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.

Prime Areas:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Communication and Language
Physical Development

Specific Areas:

Literacy Development
Mathematical Development
Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.


How can you help your child with their learning?

It is widely recognised the vital role that parents have in supporting their children’s learning and development.

The ‘What to Expect in the Early Years Foundation Stage: a guide for parents’ is a simple guide which takes parents through the expectations of each stage of learning in the EYFS and how you can support your child’s learning and development.

For more information, click on the picture below.

Further information about how the EYFS is delivered at Reddish Vale Nursery School is available for parents by contacting our office on 0161 480 6713.