The EYFS is a stage of children’s development from birth to the end of their first (Reception) year in school. The EYFS Framework describes how early years practitioners should work with children and their families to support their development and learning. It describes how children should be kept safe and cared for and how all concerned can make sure that children achieve the most that they can in their earliest years of life.

It is based on four important principles:

  • A Unique Child
  • Positive Relationships
  • Enabling Environments
  • Learning and Development

The principles underpin all that practitioners are required to do.

The seven areas of LEARNING AND DEVELOPMENT consist of 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas.

Prime Areas:
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
Specific Areas:
  • Literacy Development
  • Mathematical Development
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.

It is widely recognised the vital role that parents have in supporting their children’s learning and development.

The ‘What to expect and when’ guide is a simple guide which takes parents through the expectations of each age band in the EYFS and how they can support their children’s learning and development.

For more information, click on the picture below.

Further information about how the EYFS is delivered at Reddish Vale Nursery School is available for parents by contacting our office on 0161 – 480 – 6713.

Image result for what to expect when